2017

A year in review

Another year has passed, and it was, once again, an amazing year to be part of the Windows Insider community. Like last year, we want to take a step back with all of you and look at the year we're leaving behind.

Windows 10 market share

27.99% +3.63%

Windows 10 marketshare

90.7% -1.2%

Windows marketshare

TH1 .9% · TH2 2.8% · RS1 30.1% · RS2 65.6% · RS3 .6% · RS4 .1%

Data from 1 January 2016 compared to 1 January 2017 by Net Marketshare, version share data from 24 December 2017 by AdDuplex

Windows Insider Program

53 +10

unique build numbers

112 +60

build releases

233 +187

patch releases

...across 7 platforms

Data by ChangeWindows, compared with 2015, e.g. build 14393 for PC and Mobile counts as 2 separate builds

Windows 10
Redstone 4

Redstone 4 · Version 1803

Thanks to the Fast Ring Skip Ahead feature introduced to version 1709, previews for Redstone 4 kicked off early in July 2017 (instead of what would otherwise have been October 2017). The update promisses to improve the Fluent Design implementation and introduce features that didn't make it into version 1703 like timeline and the universal clipboard.

The Windows 10 Creators Update for PCs and Mobile

The highlights so far

Ink Screen sketch history · Cortana capabilities · Narrator · Default PowerShell · Paint 3D Preview · Expanded Settings app · Unified Update Platform · Improved High-DPI support · Windows Defender

152 -111

days since Redstone 1

4.34 +.83

average days between builds

.73% +.73%

version share

Comparison between Redstone 1 and Redstone 2, data until 1 January 2017, considers all platforms, the same build released for multiple platforms counts for each platform individually, e.g. build 14393 for PC and Mobile counts as 2 separate builds

Windows 10
Redstone 5

Redstone 5 · Version 1809

Thanks to the Fast Ring Skip Ahead feature introduced to version 1709, previews for Redstone 4 kicked off early in July 2017 (instead of what would otherwise have been October 2017). The update promisses to improve the Fluent Design implementation and introduce features that didn't make it into version 1703 like timeline and the universal clipboard.

The Windows 10 Creators Update for PCs and Mobile

The highlights so far

Ink Screen sketch history · Cortana capabilities · Narrator · Default PowerShell · Paint 3D Preview · Expanded Settings app · Unified Update Platform · Improved High-DPI support · Windows Defender

152 -111

days since Redstone 1

4.34 +.83

average days between builds

.73% +.73%

version share

Comparison between Redstone 1 and Redstone 2, data until 1 January 2017, considers all platforms, the same build released for multiple platforms counts for each platform individually, e.g. build 14393 for PC and Mobile counts as 2 separate builds

Windows 10
Redstone 6

Redstone 6 · Version 1903

Thanks to the Fast Ring Skip Ahead feature introduced to version 1709, previews for Redstone 4 kicked off early in July 2017 (instead of what would otherwise have been October 2017). The update promisses to improve the Fluent Design implementation and introduce features that didn't make it into version 1703 like timeline and the universal clipboard.

The Windows 10 Creators Update for PCs and Mobile

The highlights so far

Ink Screen sketch history · Cortana capabilities · Narrator · Default PowerShell · Paint 3D Preview · Expanded Settings app · Unified Update Platform · Improved High-DPI support · Windows Defender

152 -111

days since Redstone 1

4.34 +.83

average days between builds

.73% +.73%

version share

Comparison between Redstone 1 and Redstone 2, data until 1 January 2017, considers all platforms, the same build released for multiple platforms counts for each platform individually, e.g. build 14393 for PC and Mobile counts as 2 separate builds

Other active releases

The releases mentioned so far were in active development through the year, but there are more releases that were supported in 2017.

Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

Redstone 3 · Version 1709 · Build 16300

The Fall Creators Update brought along the Fluent Design System, Files-On-Demand and many more usability enhancements.

Windows 10 Creators Update

Redstone 2 · Version 1703 · Build 15063

The Creators Update introduced us to a predictable release schedule for Windows, with a new release every 6 months.

Windows 10 Anniversary Update

Redstone 1 · Version 1607 · Build 14393

Version 1607 is in many aspects the largest update Windows 10 has seen and will likely keep that title as no other updates will be as long in development as Redstone 1 was.

Windows 10

Threshold 1 · Version 1507 · Build 10240

2015 marked the release of the original version of Windows 10, and although it has served us well in it's short 3,5 month-life span, it is time to go.

Rest In Peace

These are the releases for which support ended in 2017.

Windows 10 Creators Update

Redstone 2 · Version 1703 · Build 15063

The Creators Update is the second version of Windows 10 to reach its End Of Life, after the November Update.

Microsoft

2017 was Dona Sarkar's first full year as head of the Windows Insider Program, and although we don't know if she's still counting, we definitely are! On 11 March 2018 she will have been head of the Insider Program for as long as Gabriel Aul was. A milestone that did fall within 2017 is the 1000th day of the Windows Insider Program.

Dona Sarkar @donasarkar

Dona Sarkar, current head of the Windows Insider Program

Having been responsible for AutoPlay, Bluetooth and Blu-ray for Vista and the Windows search experience in Windows 7 and 8, Dona Sarkar took over the role of head of the Windows Insider Program on 1 June 2016, counting the days ever since.

539 +365

days

27 june

day 1000

ChangeWindows

This year, ChangeWindows has gone through a major redesign, bringing along a more Windows-ish look. Not only that, we've also introduced our own apps. We continue to improve our website and expand our scope, and we're looking forward to what we can build for 2018. We also saw a massive growth in traffic to our website.

ChangeWindows 2017

The most noteworthy changes

Filters · UWP-inspired design · ChangeWindows App · Customization settings · Rings page · Full HTTPS · Backstage updates · Revamped milestone overview

290 076 +133 623

visitors

1 026 922 +651 738

page views

Dear Patrons

In 2017, we introduced the ChangeWindows Patreon. Through Patreon, our visitors - our Patrons - can donate money to ChangeWindows. Essentially, these are the people that make ChangeWindows possible. They deserve a shout-out.

Become a Patron

A short word

2016 has been an amazing year for us Windows Insiders. And we owe it all to Gabriel Aul, Dona Sarkar, the team behind them and the Windows team as a whole. So - I guess I can say this - in name of the Windows Insider community I would like to say "Thank you".

To the visitors of ChangeWindows, I would also like to express my gratitude. It is amazing to be part of this community and it is to see ChangeWindows grow, and that wouldn't have been possible without all of you.

I hope you have all celebrated the holidays with your family and friends, walked into the New Year with your loved ones. 2017 has started, and there is a whole road ahead. For all of us. For each of us.

Thank you, and I'll see you in 2017
- Yannick · studio384